Where do I begin?

TaylorDuke

Hello everyone,

I had posted before in here before when I first joined. I talked about my long term goal of building a home recording studio to record local bands. Well fast forward a few months, I still have a burning desire to learn audio engineering but I just can't figure out where to begin. I've watched YouTube videos. I've bought a book on live sound. But nothing seems to be aimed at someone who is a total beginner and needs to start from square one.

I would love to attend the Recording Workshop School In Chillicothe, Ohio as I live only 30 mins away but probably can't until next year.

Where do I begin?? How do I get started??

Hello everyone,

I had posted before in here before when I first joined. I talked about my long term goal of building a home recording studio to record local bands. Well fast forward a few months, I still have a burning desire to learn audio engineering but I just can't figure out where to begin. I've watched YouTube videos. I've bought a book on live sound. But nothing seems to be aimed at someone who is a total beginner and needs to start from square one.

I would love to attend the Recording Workshop School In Chillicothe, Ohio as I live only 30 mins away but probably can't until next year.

Where do I begin?? How do I get started??

Can you play an instrument? If so learn to read music. OK! Odd thing to say but it WILL pay dividends. "Back in the Day" Recording engineers and producers were polymaths. They were often good to virtuoso pianists, had a degree in electrical engineering and were very practical to boot (if you didn't MAKE it you didn't GET it!)

Any talent you might acquire in even one of those fields will put you ahead of millions of other wannabees.