When is a song ready?

42low

Banned
Through some years off digital recording i've made me some recordings which became songs. I learn each day and to practise that i regular start remastering old projects.
Some songs were simple cause a vocal on an existing musictrack. Some existed of 7 vocals on music, and some were fully self produced songs existing of multiple tracks.
Not professional (i'm still an amateur which has to learn and practise a lott), but they sound not that bad as people who heard and got songs confirmed that they were quite good (sure not worst at least). Some songs were received as 'great and well made'.

So i (think i) know quite some basics. I make vocals better with the right tricks. Learned better how to EQ tracks and how to get annoying sounds out of it. Learned how to master the song so it get's more body en depth. Learned better and more which plugins do what and were to use them. Know which plugins are quite common to use. And many more of that stuff.

But after reëditing and remastering i can't really say the song became that better.
Different, better on aspects, but not really better overall. Editing failures seem to effect the originality of the song, so agains the profits there seem to be (unwanted) losses too. Some more reverb doesn't always sound better. Some 'improvements' seems to flatten the song. That 'one annoying guitar tone' between the rest of the play seems to 'make the sound'.
And in the end both sound nice, but a bit different. Where i win i loose too with an 'equal' result where i can't name one 'better', and sometimes even a worst sounding remastering.

Is this because the original wasn't that bad at all at first? Is this because the recordings were already quite good? Is this because some sounds give a song it's life and characteristics and if you change these the backbone of the song is gone? Is it that less many times really is more?