What is mixing all about, in a nutshell?

LZoSo

I'm a newbie starting out, I mixed some of my solo guitar stuff (electric, classical) and from online resources (Mixing Secrets).
My conclusion of mixing is simply to make a great performance sound better using EQ, compression, gating etc...
But I feel that there is something missing in my mental approach, even though I watched many YouTube videos about the subject and read quickly through some books.
Is mixing all about: a. even leveling, b. EQ+compression by need and using my ears, c. reverb... or other ways people on YouTube and books say?

Thank you in advance

It's about getting the song to sound the way you want or the artist wants/intends.

Getting there requires some knowledge, the tools (plugins, outboard gear, decent monitoring, etc), and a willingness to spend the time adjusting and experimenting. Being creative with the tools is a bonus, but you have to first know what they do and how to use them to be inventive. Time takes time, so it's really about spending time experimenting as much as it is watching tutorials. Tutorials will teach you the mechanics, but experimentation is where the 'art' takes place.

Welcome to the forum LZoSo!

Mixing can make a song sound radically different that what is was before. However, going overboard with effects. EQing, and compression might distort what you intended to create in the first place. I recommend using only the basics at first and gradually learn and add to your repertoire.

The sculptor said "..It's easy. You just chip away what you don't want".
:>)

Hey.. I just realized! 'Sculptors only have cut eq :listeningmusic:

Is mixing all about: a. even leveling, b. EQ+compression by need and using my ears, c. reverb... or other ways people on YouTube and books say?
Some of the best mixes I've done had no EQ, no compression, no reverb (except the room) and anything but "even" levels.