WA76 / WA-2A questions

kakashix

hey folks,

i have a few questions about these hardware compressors:
Warm Audio WA76 / WA-2A

i hope u can help me out

let me start.

1. are both mentioned compressor mono compressors? or is 1 of them stereo or can be used as a stereo compressor?

2. does it make sense to use 2 hardware compressors? like a combo of WA76 and WA-2A? Does it make sense?

3. how would you approach this, using the first hardware compressor while recording and the second one as an insert in ur daw?

thats all for now, I would be very grateful for your willingness to help me

Free bump. Interested in how to use these 2 gears too. I have them as well connected in series (76 first then LA) but it seems my voice got too thin. Got to play around more with adjusting. I'm just a casual noob. NOt a musician at all.

The Wa-2A has a stereo link jack, so you could operate 2 of them in stereo mode. The WA76 does not have any stereo link, so it could only be operated in mono or dual mono mode.

The good thing about stereo link is that when 2 units are linked, if one clamps down, so does the other one. This prevents your stereo image from jumping from side to side if one side clamps down and the other doesn't. That can sound odd to the listener.

At least that's how I understand it.

But to actually answer your questions:

1. are both mentioned compressor mono compressors? or is 1 of them stereo or can be used as a stereo compressor?

They are both mono compressors. The WA-2A can be paired with a 2nd WA-2A and stereo linked. Feed the left channel into one compressor and the right channel into the other, set the dials to the same positions on both, and you're set.

2. does it make sense to use 2 hardware compressors? like a combo of WA76 and WA-2A? Does it make sense?