Voice questions

cfw

I have been working on my voice for a little while now and I was wondering if anybody has any tips for me. I have noticed I am not very good at higher notes, in fact I absolutely suck. I can hit a very high note but I'm afraid others would find it to be a shreek or squeal...

I have heard relaxing the vocal chords can help with higher notes but it's not helping me much. I was just wanting some advice and I was hoping to find a sample of how any of you sound.

Can somebody provide a sample of their voice for me to hear? Preferably without effects of any sort or instruments. It would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I write a lot and have been for around 2 years but when I try to sing my songs I lose rhythm or something and end up feeling stupid. I can sing others songs and sound okay but I have no sense of timing on my own songs. Do you think it would be better for me to do instruments and mold vocals to it? Any tips?

Thanks in advance to all who read!
(Sorry for talking so much.)
cfw

Welcome to the board cfw. If you haven't yet you'll soon learn that singing is all about breathing. Do exercises that will strengthen your diaphram like crunches and inhale with your stomach down and out instead of raising your chest. When you're singing high notes think above the note while your singing and keep in mind the sources of the sounds you are making e.g. from your stomach, in your chest, your throat, your nose etc.

The timing issue can be easily resolved by using a metronome until you become able to keep timing yourself.

Hitting high notes…

The question is how high? Are we talking E4 – G4 below the break in the voice… or are we talking A4 – D5 above the break? (most men sing these very high notes above the break in falsetto and sound pretty girly.)

Chest (full) voice upper range: