The usual Mixer/Interface question.

VDeGou

Hey guys, I'm new to the forum and pretty much to all that is home recording. Right now I'm building my studio and I've been trying to find a piece of equipment that will fit my needs, but given the fact that I have little to no experience in this area, I come to you guys!

I guess having more information is better for you guys than having barely any and trying to guess what I'm trying to do, so here it comes.
I'm a drummer. My main focus will be recording covers in my free time, and then eventually recording my band/other people's bands. My kit can be hooked up with 8 mics. I'm also looking forward to learning how to mix and master properly. I need Firewire streaming because I want to be able to receive each mic separately in its own, dedicated track.

I've been looking around and my main question is this: Is it worth getting a 16x16 mixer with nice PreEQ'ing capabilities for what I need, or would an interface do the job just the same (or better)?
I've been looking at the Mackie Onyx 1640i (tried to link you guys the product information, but I can't for having less than 10 posts) for a very long time, but then I realized...Wait, can't I just add all those pretty EQ effects afterwards through the DAW? Obviously my answer was yes, but I still prefer coming to the guys who know!

After looking at that Onyx, I turned my attention to the Mackie Blackbird. This one looks pretty good for what I need (and its $1100 cheaper!), the only thing being that even though it states being 16x16, there are no 16 inputs! Only 8 physical inputs (correct me if I'm using the wrong terminology) and 8 other inputs I can access if I connect it to another interface or mixer through an ADAT cable.