Using a hardware compressor during mixing

Xcaliber

Ok, let me say I'm a total newb when it comes to using hardware processors of any kind so I might be totally off base with this, but I need help. I recently bought 2 channel hardware compressor and I want to use it to add compression to tracks while mixing (not while recording)...mostly because the tracks I'm mixing were not recorded by me. I know some people are going to say "just use a software compressor in the box and be done with it", but I really want to try the hardware compressor even if for no other reason than do learn how to do it. I'm also planning to use a patchbay (again, because I can and want to learn) so that is in the "mix" here as well.

So here's what I'm thinking (based on something I read on the Internet):

Run two of the balanced outputs of my TASCAM US-1800 to two inputs on the patchbay and set those inputs to "thru". Run the same two outputs from the patchbay to the inputs of channel 1 on the compressor. Run the outputs from the compressor to another two patchbay inputs and then run the same outputs from the patchbay to two inputs on my TASCAM. Then I can route the track in Studio One to the outputs that go to the compressor and create a new track that uses the inputs from the compressor so I can have a compressed version and the original uncompressed version in the DAW.

I'm probably making this more complicated than I need to and I appreciate any advice/help you can give me.

Now that I read that, will it even work? I'm so confused.

That should work, though unless you have a bunch of compressors and need to reassign them to various outputs and inputs on the Tascam I would probably just skip the patch bay for simplicity's sake. There's a whole range of different ways to integrate the patch bay, but none of them really help you much in this case.