Using an amplifier with video recording

Birdrock

Hi. Newbie here. I know it's possible but am having a little trouble recording myself playing guitar through an amp and getting the amp's audio - not the computer's mic.

Computer: Lenovo Y700
Recording with Audacity or Reaper.

Basically I want to record video and audio of myself playing guitar but when I play it back the recording is from the computer's mic (you hear the guitar unplugged). I want the sound from my amp like when I record audio using Audacity or Reaper. I know on way is to record using both the computer camera AND my recording software and then matching those recordings, but isn't there a simpler application that will automatically record the video and use the signal from my amp?

Hi,
Welcome to the forum!

You'll need to tell us what the setup is like when your recording works as you wish.
Are you using an audio interface? What interface?...a microphone?..and emulated line out from the amp? What amp?..built in sound card? What cables and what setup?

We also need to know what video software you're using.

Chances are your video software has an options menu that will let you choose the appropriate input device and, since reaper/audacity does what you want, that'll probably work but without the info that's just a guess.

Hi. Newbie here. I know it's possible but am having a little trouble recording myself playing guitar through an amp and getting the amp's audio

So, are you using the laptop's built in camera? If so I don't know if the Video recording software (Win Movies?) CAN be fed with other than the internal mic? You can certainly select other than the int' mic in Sounds and Devices (Rht click speaker icon) but then then that source may not be able to be routed to the video recorder.

The best option would be an external camera that has either its own microphone or, much better, one that can take a line level source from a mixer and decent microphone.