Transcription software

gadsworth

Anyone have a preference for transcription software? I've looked at a few and The Midi illustrator looks pretty good.
I'm curious what those who are well versed in this type of product use. When in doubt ask the pros. many thanks.

I'm not a pro, but . . .

I think the term you're looking for is "amanuensis" rather than "transcription." The two most popular are Finale and Sibelius. I have both, but have decades of experience with Finale and only just got Sibelius, so I'm a bit biased. Either one of them provides a comprehensive, professional solution. They will both accept MIDI either in realtime or step-entry, they both have a complete set of orchestral sounds as VST for playback, they both have internal rules for correct "spelling" of enharmonics, they both produce absolutely beautiful printed sheet music, and they both provide an amazing amount of control of notation and printing parameters. If money is an issue for you (as if it's not an issue for everyone :)), look at the "competitive upgrade" programs that both publishers offer -- you may be able to pick up an older version of one on ebay and upgrade to the latest version of the other.