Taking a music production course

pza4lyfe

How did everyone learn music production and how to use your preferred DAW? I tried the youtube tutorial route, but there seems to be a large knowledge gap of what the youtubers seem to assume you already know and the basics of everything. And when people say to just open up your DAW and practice making music and you'll eventually understand, it's overwhelming to know where to start when you're staring at a huge gray space (literally for Ableton).

If you're starting from an absolute beginner's starting point, would you recommend taking a music production course? Is it worth it or should I just try messing around in Ableton by myself a little longer? There are some cheap courses I'm seeing on Udemy ($15 https://www.udemy.com/ultimate-ableton-live-complete/ ) that goes through Ableton, but not sure if it's worth my time. The ultimate goal is to start producing music, not just learn everything about a DAW.

Me? I spent hours experimenting and practicing. The only time I EVER use a youtube video, which in the main waste hours of your life, is for a specific query. Like - how to do X, and I can't work it out myself. I zip off to youtube, or often google with real words, and once I find where the menu is hidden or some strange routing I didn't realise was needed, I get back to learning it for myself.

I was around when music technology started to be delivered by colleges, and taught it for a long time.