Suggestions for recording guitar/drums duo in rehearsal room with zoom h6

ella_guru

Hi,

Long term lurker, first time poster here.

Briefly, we are a guitar drums duo, where we both sing.

I'm looking to put together an EP to test out some songs, using the limited gear I have and also to learn about the recording process. I have been using various DAWs for the last 12 years, but this is my first concentrated to get a proper band recording done.

Our sound is electric guitar and drums. Guitar is usually on the edge of break up with some occasional heavy distortion. Vocals veer between regular singing and very loud screaming.

I have a zoom H6 with the XY and Mid/Side capsules.
I am planning on using one of these capsules to record the drums and then also micing the kick drum to allow later adjustment.

I would record the vocals directly from the Aux outputs of the PA mixer in the rehearsal room, this would take 2 inputs (Shure SM58s for vocals)

The one remaining input would be used to close mic the guitar cab (w/ Shure SM58)

I understand my gear is very limit and do not expecting amazing results, but hoping to get down some tracks with decent seperation so that I can build out the arrangements in logic (add bass, keys etc....).

The room is approx. 10' * 15' with high ceilings.

(If anyone is familiar with the Sweatshop studios in Brooklyn, NY it would be a room in here)
===================

Anyway, considering my (long:) description above, I would greatly appreciate any suggestions people may have to get the most out of this situation.
Ideally. the sound would be raw and dynamic and reflect our live sound.

It would like to keep it as simple and efficient as possible, much more about the vibe of the recording.

Thank you.