stupid question from a stupid person

chrisp200

hi my name is chris and i am very new to recording and this site. I'm probably going to have countless questions in the weeks to come but for now I just want to figure out what I need to get.

I was planning to start out with the Mbox USB Interface. It seemed like a good choice to me. But if i get that would I also need a mixer such as a Eurorack to record drums so I would have mic imputs?

Yes, you would need additional pramps for however many tracks you would like to record.

If you want them track to track to your computer you would also need ADCs (analog to digital converters) for each track, too.

For the price of buying a mbox you could shop for a mixer and a very good M-audio sound interface, which will take care of all your needs. Just a suggestion, compare everything before you buy something.

chrisp200, welcome to our home here at HR.COM.

You should give us some more information......

What are you recording?

What types of music are you creating?

What type of instruments are you trying to record?

How many instuments would you like to connect simultaneously?

How many instuments would you like to record simultaneously?

What programs are you using?

Are you using a laptop or desktop?

Are you using a MAC or PC?

What are your SPECIFIC computer specs?

What are you using as "reference" monitors?

The answers to those questions should help us to provide you with the best answers and options.

Peace...

spin

The Land of Moderators, because those who wish to be mediators between two resolute thinkers are marked as mediocre: they lack eyes to see the unparalleled; seeing things as similar and making them the same is the mark of weak eyes.

I plan on recording a lot of different kinds of music as time goes on, but when i start i would like to do a lot of accustics w/ vocals. And also record full rock bands w/ guitar, bass, drums, and vocals.