Studio Monitors

kcbluegal

OK bear with me if this has been answered before. I tried muddling through posts and it just wasn't helping. Also, I'm posting this in the Newbie Forum because I'm a Newbie to recording and need to be spoken to like one.. ;)

My husband wants Studio Monitors and I remember him mentioning "Alesis". I want to surprise him and purchase a set. Now... are there different types or models of Alesis? I mean, like if somebody says "oh Dodge makes the best cars", you still wouldn't know which model to get without research, KWIM?

SO... my first question is which model (if there is such a thing with studio monitors), price being no object? If it helps any, I don't know where any equipment stores are around me except for MARS.

Also, am I loony or did somebody awhile ago say that Alesis really aren't that great? Should I be thinking about a different brand all together? Or is it one of those opinion things?

Thanks for any information you guys can help me out with.

If your husband is into Alesis, he probably is basing his opinion on the monitor ones that were one of the first decent, well priced, entry level mons a few years back. You are right, you have heard that they aren't a great choice. A better choice would be (in the same price range) Yorkville ysm1, Tannoy Proto J, (havent used, but hear good things about M Audio Studiophiles.) If that is the case and he is basing his opinion on things that aren't quite cutting edge, he'll be very happy (and would regardless) with some Event 20/20's or some PS5 or PS's.

Pete

Don't get Alesis...

Do you know if he already has an amplifier that he plans to use with the monitors?

(this is a pretty important point, as monitors come in 2 VERY different categories, powered/non-powered aka active/passive.)

If you're going the active/powered route, I'll add the JBL LSR 25P to the recommended list.

Queue