Studio Monitors

xxfatclownxx

Hello, I am pretty new to home recording, and I am new to the forum. I record guitar and bass through my Line6 Guitarport. I do not have any studio monitors, just some decent computer speakers with a subwoofer (Altec Lansing speakers). I was wondering what major differences there are between studio monitors and regular speakers. Of course studio monitors have to be of good quality, but why wouldn't say a good quality computer speaker set work as monitors. Also, if I decide to get monitors, what are some decent sounding monitors for a relatively low price ($150 - $250). I have also seen studio monitor subwoofers and I was wondering if these were necessary for a home studio. Thank you.

xxfatclownxx said:
I was wondering what major differences there are between studio monitors and regular speakers. Of course studio monitors have to be of good quality, but why wouldn't say a good quality computer speaker set work as monitors.

The goal of monitors is to provide a neutral uncolored sound at a listening position close to the speakers. The sound kind of drab compared to most consumer systemts.

xxfatclownxx said:
Also, if I decide to get monitors, what are some decent sounding monitors for a relatively low price ($150 - $250). I have also seen studio monitor subwoofers and I was wondering if these were necessary for a home studio. Thank you.

I picked up a pair of Event PS6s off eBay for ~$275.

i just won a pair of m audio 5bs off ebay for like $130, i'll let you know how well they work when they get here?

If you look around, you can find the M-Audio BX5's for under $200. They have nice detail in the midrange, but function best with a subwoofer.

I think subs for monitors are a bad idea. The way that subs sound as a function of placement is tremendously variable.

Fatclown,

Firstly, Welcome to the forum, there's a whole bunch of very resourceful fellow home recording enthusiasts around here that will help with any problem that may arise.