Starting home recording with electronic kit

fwest3975

Hi all: great forum btw.
But I have some questions about starting a very cheap and simple home recording setup. I have a Yamaha dtx450k electronic drum kit(which DOES send out midi) and I have an iPad,iPhone (both with GarageBand) and a Windows 10 laptop.
I would like to have a simple recording setup and GarageBand seems to be the easiest app to record with. My first question is

1. how do I send midi drums to garageband? By that I mean physically. Do I need a special cable or will the basic charger cable connect the iPad to the USB port in my kit work? But then ima need a drum interface app to trigger the midi.
2. is there any drum interface apps that work with midi (such as ezdrummer) that are also compatible with GB?

If there is a comparable setup for A Windows laptop setup that would be just as well.
I just don't want to drop hundreds of dollars for interface apps and hardware to record song demos.
Thanks!!!
Ps. I'm a newbie so try to dumb it down for me

Just had a look at your kit online - You should be able to record the midi in GarageBand on your iPad using the Apple Camera Connection Kit and the USB cable that came with the kit...

You won't be recording any audio though - just midi.
The sounds in your kit won't hit the sequencer (GarageBand) so you'll need to assign a VST to the midi channel (probably channel 10)

If you want to record the actual audio from the kit you'll need a 2-channel USB audio interface and a TRS (stereo Jack) (or stereo minijack - can't tell from the picture I can see) to phono cable and a pair of phono to jack converters (or a stereo Jack to mono Jack lead if you can find one) from the audio out of the kit to the inputs on the USB interface.

You can get an audio interface that'll work on both iPad and your laptop - cheapest > behringer UCA222

From this review, Yamaha DTX400K
there is no actual MIDI output but the unit will send MIDI triggers over USB.