Some newbie questions about recording vocals...

Xpred

Hi everyone! I just found this awesome message board, and I feel I have a bunch of questions to ask. I've been singing for about 5 years, mainly karaoke and trying to record on the computer. I've been just messing around using a headset mike (heh, the ones you play games with) while using various programs like Sound Forge & Gold Wave to just "mix" the vocals into the backingtrack/karaoke/instrumental. My main interest is only vocal recording. I just love recording myself singing to an instrumental or karaoke. But now, I really want to step up to the plate and buy an ACTUAL mike all these years, and anything else necessary like a sound card. But I just have a whole bunch of questions (sorry if it spans multiple subjects) I don't know really where to start or post it, but here it goes:

1. Which microphone should I buy? I know this will differ from many people, but my budget is about $70 for a max microphone and for vocals only. I don't know much about microphones... all I have heard are the Shure and Audio-technica brands.

2. Do I need a sound card of some sort so that I can plug the microphone into my computer? My computer just has onboard sound with regular small hole jacks. My headset mikes (heh!) were I believe just regular 3.5mm or those smaller jacks (the red circle). I'm think there are XLR and 1/4" jacks that my computer certainly doesn't have, and perhaps I need a sound card or external accessory of some sort. Or a adapter converter maybe? Anyone know what's the cheapest one available? Will the sound also be affected if you use one of these converters (like XLR to 1/4" or vice versa or even one to 3.5mm)?