Some advice please?

PhilLondon

While I’m not strictly a newbie here I’ve always found people very helpful here, so if this is the wrong forum I do apologise. I could do with some advice.

I’ve always been really into mixing and recording as a hobby. I seem to get some decent results with not very expensive gear in the little home studio I have. I’ve also been told by a few engineers that my mixes are quite good for someone with no real training except from YouTube videos and my own initiative.

But the real issue is I’m 34 and im getting to the point where I think that if I don’t do what I really want to do, it’ll be way too late to do it. This is a do it now or accept your lot kind of deal. So I want to go and study Sound Engineering or something similar at university and work with recording bands or artists and then mixing or mastering their music. I guess my main focus if I had to choose would be on actually recording the music. I love working with amps and guitars and old microphones and compressors etc.

I can still work in my current field, in a casual shift by shift basis while I study and I can always go back to it. I’m a Nurse.

I have played in bands my whole life. No hearing protection, stupid I know. I had a drummer who would hit very hard and I always stood to his left.

In my right ear I cant hear much at all above 14k. My left ear is about 18k or so, and I’ve also got a slight dip in the around 11k. I also have tinnitus in my right ear. I normally swap headphones over to hear both sides and use frequency analysers so I can identify problematic frequencies and the balance of the mix if I think something is up. If I turn the mix up I can hear frequencies in the higher ranges. I believe I get decent results like this as an amateur and with some formal training, I think I can be really good at it.

I have a few questions: