Running an unbalanced mic through a balanced XLR cable into a balanced input

SlowButEffectiv

Hi. I'm a newbie so am posting here. I've checked the newbie FAQ and done a search and didn't find this, so my apologies if this has been asked before.

I have a Pyle PDMIC58 dynamic microphone, bought last month. This model used to be wired unbalanced (search youtube for "Pyle PDMIC58 Microphone - SM-58 Knockoff" without the quotes; I'm not allowed to post a link as I'm a first-time poster). However, at least one poster on another forum has said that it is now wired as balanced. I want to know for sure* without taking the mic apart (I'm not handy, and the screw is hard to turn--don't want to break it). So I ran the mic using a balanced XLR cable into my TASCAM US-4x4 interface using the IN1 XLR port. It worked, i.e. sound came out of the headphones, and the signal indicator lit.

My question: If the mic were wired as unbalanced, would I have heard anything on my headphones? (Which I did, see above). I would assume the answer is no, as wouldn't the two signals would be subtracted out from each other?

--Richard

*The reason I want to know for sure is I will also have a condenser mic using phantom power, and the TASCAM manual says "When using condenser mics that require phantom power and dynamic mics together, be sure to use balanced dynamic mics. Unbalanced dynamic mics cannot be used when phantom power is enabled" I'm worried I'll wreck something if the mic turns out to be unbalanced. I can't attach an image (first post), but if I did it would show that pin 1 and pin 3 are connected inside the mic, at least they were for the older instances of the PDMIC58. I mention this in case there are other ways to wire an unbalanced mic.

I am known a bit here for a hobby horse and that nag is Get a Bloody Meter!