Rode Nt1a or Blue Spark? Help :)

fulong_wu

Banned
Hi, my name is Chris. I have the GXL 2200 but I'm planning to upgrade to a new mic. Which one's better? The Rode Nt1a or the Blue Spark. I'll mainly be using the microphone for vocals :) Thank you very much :) Any advice or personal experience shared would greatly be appreciated.

Is your room treated? I'm just going to guess that it isn't. I would recommend a dynamic mic for a room that isn't ideal for recording. What did you read that told you to go with a condenser mic?

Personally I would go for the Rode as a well known and respected mic.
The Blue Spark does not seem to have any overiding advantages over the NT1a and you seem to be paying a bit more for bling!

Yes to a dynamic but maybe the 10-20quid/$ saved can be put toward a Reflection filter?

Dave.

Hi, thank you very much for all your replies :) i cant deny it, im a noob so i apologize if i do misunderstand terms and stuff. By treated you mean like a sound proof room? Right now it isnt, but it will be after i get a new mic. Ive read about dynamic and condenser mics and condenser mics will be the ones i'll be using considering my setup plans :) ive heard a lot about blue spark mics being very nice when it comes to female vocals, and ive only owned 2 mics so far, so my comparisons arent reliable. Im planning to get an audio interface with the new mic. Any combo recommendations from you guys? I do have experiences on recording and vocal editing and ive had quite a few so far. But still not even close to professional level. Around $300 dollars is my budget ceiling :) thank you guys