Returning to recording music after 5 years

antispatula

Hi guys. Long story short, I was depressed for a few years, but have cured my depression through addressing some issues I had with my gut health, and my passion for music-making has returned full speed! Just bought a UA 610 solo and modded my SP-C1 and am very happy with the results I am getting.

The problem is, I'm a medical student, about to start my last year, and am worth negative 120k right now (LOL-I laugh to hide my pain). I need to get a computer to record on (my 5 yr old macbook air isn't cutting it). I can get a 1TB 8GB RAM desktop on ebay for 150 bucks free shipping-If i get a computer with windows 7.

So my question is this: will having windows 7 hinder me in any way in 2018 in terms of DAW or VST functionality? The comp will have 8 gbs RAM and windows 7 is still 64 bit.

Let me know what you think, thanks guyz

" will having windows 7 hinder me in any way in 2018 in terms of DAW or VST functionality? Short answer? Yes, any computer (mac or Win) has a resource limit, usually the CPU speed that means there comes a point where loading on too many plugins say, will result in clicks and dropouts. Similarly VSTis require low latency for real time use and that requires a fast machine to run low buffer sizes.

But, almost any laptop built in the last 5 years will cope with SOME plugins and probably a simple piano or drums synth but NOT whilst surfing the net, running a virus check and making the tea!

Another 'but', don't see an Audio Interface in that gear list? AFAIK the mic pre does not have a digital converter? So, your first problem is to chose an AI and THAT can have an influence on the power of the computer you need for low latency as can to a limited extent, the recording software (aka DAW).