Recording V-Drums via Monitor and Stereo Mic

whiskyandspice

Hello,

I've started dabbling in home recording. I'm a hobby drummer and wanted to experiment recording my drumming.

I know that I can record the drums direct to PC via USB and although that sounds good I wanted to experiment capturing the ambient sound of the drums via the drum monitor.

I'm playing on a Roland TD-11 kit with a Roland PM-10.

When I'm playing and listening to the drums via the monitor they sound great, very realistic both highs and lows. The highs are crisp and smooth via the monitor.

For microphones I'm experimenting with a Shure MV88 ios mic and a Blue Yeti.

It seems that no matter what I try, the highs in the recordings via the microphone sound piercing and harsh. I've been able to smooth them out a little with changing some variables but no matter what I try I still seem to get harsh, piercing highs.

When I listen to some demo from drums on YouTube with people using the same mics on drums, albeit they are acoustic drums, the highs are much smoother and crisp compared to what I'm capturing.

Is this just a symptom of entry level, inexpensive microphones capturing something coming out of another speaker like a drum monitor?

I've tried adjusting the recording levels, limiter, compression, reducing the treble on the drum monitor, reducing treble equalization while recording, surrounding the drum monitor with more dampening like furniture and blankets. I've tried the angle of the mic, height and distance of the mic from the monitor, yet still on the cymbals I get a piercing, harsh sound on the recording.

The room I'm in has a great ambient sound, similar to a booming sound like When The Levee Breaks. It sounds so great when I'm playing but I can't seem to capture it with a mic.

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Cheers,
Dan
Toronto, Canada