Recording Sounds Directly from an Ipad

Picqwik

I'm a newbie, so this may sound like a silly question ...

I've found some great backing track apps on my ipad. The stereo quality through the ipad headphones is superb.

I want to put them into a couple of tracks on my Tascam recorder. Question ... is there a device available to do this and where would I find it? Or, is there another way to get these tracks off of the ipad? I know you can import sounds to the ipad (like guitar, for example) but nothing I've read covers exporting sounds.

Thanks. Dave

No, you don't understand ... Of course it has a headphones jack, and of course, I have ipad headphones, the problem is (I think) ... the ipad sounds are digital and I've got to somehow convert it to analog. It will require an interface, I know that, ... I just don't know what it is or where I can get it! Everything I've seen on the internet seems to be an interface for coverting analog to digital. I'm looking for the oposite. Surely, I can't be the only person who has run up against this!

Dave

Your headphone out is analog.

Run a splitter cable from the ipad headphone out to 2 tracks on your Tascam.

HosaCMP159.jpg

No, you don't understand ... Of course it has a headphones jack, and of course, I have ipad headphones, the problem is (I think) ... the ipad sounds are digital and I've got to somehow convert it to analog. It will require an interface, I know that, ... I just don't know what it is or where I can get it!

Your headphone out is analog.

Teehee :)

:spank:

(I think) ... the ipad sounds are digital and I've got to somehow convert it to analog

The sounds the iPad plays are digital audio files, however, there is a D/A converter between the iPad's electronics and the headphone output. In other words, the iPad already has an interface built into it.

Thats fucking stupid. Why would you want to use your iPad for recording?