Recording Live Question ?

IBJammin

I am new at recording so just bare with my lack of understanding of the recording process. Our band is playing at a gig and I was wanting to record the live music. We use an Allen & Heath mixer board and I was wondering what would be the best way to record it and get a decent recording and where would I plug into on the mixer to grab the mix to record it ? What is the best way, and what are the alternatives ?

Depends on a few different things. In smaller venues, USUALLY there's mostly vocals in the PA as the stage volume carries the instruments. Recording from the board yields a mix that's all vox and not enough of the band. If you have a pair of decent condensors and preamps, I'd put them in the sweet spot of the room (where the front of house mixer sets is ideal) and record the room as that's what the band is sounding like anyway.

We will be playing outside to an audience of about 200-300 people. Even though that's not that big of an audience, we normally send everything through the mixer board so that the sound can be controlled by the guy on the board. Prevents guitarist and others from overpowering everyone else. Amps on stage are mainly used for monitors for each player to hear themselves out of the mix.

What do you have to record with? DO you intend to multitrack or just a live to two track recording?

I do this quite a bit, but it requires an OBSCENE amount of time at sound-check...

If you're multi-tracking, just go out of the "DIRECT OUT" on each channel and ignore everything else below.

Assuming you're using an AH with enough AUX sends (2200 maybe?) and you can spare two of them, use AUX 1 for LEFT and AUX 2 for RIGHT (or 3&4, or 5&6). Plug the aux sends into your recorder...

These need to be POST fader - Flip that switch if you need to...