Recording levels

Mr. Derp

Hey. New here. I've got a Line 6 Pod Studio UX2 audio interface and my DAW is Reaper.

I'm relatively new to home recording and i wish to start off by getting the basics straight. Recording levels.

How am i supposed to mix the Audio interface output with the DAW and the guitar simulator(pod farm) ?
Haven't really found a good comprehensive tutorial that includes all the different components and factors online on this.
I've got somewhat of an understanding of it by watching what's out there, but i really want to get this down.

The faders in my Daw : Should i just leave them at zero and adjust the output on my amp simulator so it peaks at about -6db/-12db?
Or should i work with the faders instead? Wouldn't the result be the same? What about the output from my audio interface?
It doesn't seem the affect the levels anywhere though. The input level in my DAW stays the same whatever my output volume is on my AI.

When i adjusted the volume from my guitar to peak at -6db in my DAW it went pass 0db when i double tracked the guitars.

A lot of questions here. I would be super happy if someone could either explain these things to me or point me in the direction of a video or some source where this gets explained.

Tracking levels are better off being around -18 to -12. That leaves you headroom for when your mixing and then mastering. Headroom =good. :)

I keep my faders at unity (zero) and adjust my trim (input gain) to put my levels at the -18 to -12.

Also, when I double track my rhythm guitars, I'll hipass on the EQ. Usually around 80 to 100 hz. I cut that (subtractive EQ) several db's. There's a lot of energy in the lower frequencies and by cutting them out, it'll free up headroom and be less muddy.
btw... where ya cut is determined by what instrument you're working with.

hope somethin here helps.

Ok. So when you say trim you're referring to the output of the instruments? Like the volume on the amp?