Recording at home using NTG4 and Behringer 502USB

If I had to take a SWAG, it would be the pre amps in the mixer. The NTG4 will be much more sensitive than the HyperX. Do you have a dynamic mix you can test through your mixer?

hmm complete noob here.... whats a dynamic mix?

Your NTG4 is called a Condenser mic. Condenser mics are much more sensitive than dynamic mics. Condenser mics requires phantom power from 12 to 48 volts to make them work. Dynamic mics do not require phantom power. The pic below shows the background noise between the two audio files you provided. I am assuming your headset mic was not run through your mixer, is that correct?

View attachment 100400

Last edited:
also a condenser however some listings refer to them as a condenser dynamic?

Well I have never heard of that but than again, I learn new things every day. I looked up your mixer and it sells for around $35.00 if I am correct. Your mic list for around $300.00. IMHO, the mixer is the weak link in the chain.

spot on. headset is through usb.

OK, than that is why your headset mic is close to 10dbs softer than your $300.00 mic that was run through your mixer. Also, make sure you have your phantom power turned on for your condenser mic. If your mixer does not have this ability to provide phantom power, than that could very well be your problem.

Well I have never heard of that but than again, I learn new things every day. I looked up your mixer and it sells for around $35.00 if I am correct. Your mic list for around $300.00. IMHO, the mixer is the weak link in the chain.

this is the mixer i have

Behringer XENYX Q502USB Compact Mixer

i also have its big daddy the Q1204USB

BEHRINGER Q1204USB 12 input USB Mixer

i bought the 502 for space reasons but even if i use the Q1204 it sounds the same.

---------- Update ----------