Recording guitar question in Home studio

George Adey

Bit of a newbie here - My current setup is guitar to an Alesis MicroVerb 4 into my USB audio interface to Logic Pro X.

I have been thinking about buying a Fender amp so I can mic it up and run the mic to my USB audio interface.

Will the quality be much better from Micing up and amp as opposed to running through the Alesis into the USB?

Or will I be able to get away with the second option when it comes to mixing etc

thanks

Well...it will sound more like a guitar played through an amp....though I assume you're now applying some sort of "amp plugin" to the guitar track...?

How much better one will sound over the other has several variables...so it's not a clear yes/no...but speaking for myself, I prefer to mic amps when I record guitar. Other folks like the plugin route.

Well...it will sound more like a guitar played through an amp....though I assume you're now applying some sort of "amp plugin" to the guitar track...?

How much better one will sound over the other has several variables...so it's not a clear yes/no...but speaking for myself, I prefer to mic amps when I record guitar. Other folks like the plugin route.

Thanks for replying. Yeah I would be using the Microverb for the effect I wanted and then a basic amp simulation in Logic. I would rather Mic it up though but I need to find a smallish amp that still sounds good (only need a good clean channel) and if I can record something that sounds not too bad at a lower volumes as I have room mates!!!!

Well, a lot of those $100 amps can do well over USB and it is nice to get the speaker MICed, also. Make sure the amp has the clean you want. People can get pretty picky over clean

I would rather Mic it up though but I need to find a smallish amp that still sounds good (only need a good clean channel)