Recording Classical Guitar

Cyril

Hello all,

New member, first post. OK, basically I am new to recording and have done as much reading as I can and need some direction. Pretend I am hiring you as a consultant to find the best solution for me. Here are my needs and my budget:

-- Recording solo classical guitar
-- Portability would be nice but not critical
-- Can't record to the computer but can use the computer for editing (basic editing needs such as adding a little reverb)
-- Want to keep it simple the fewest # of components
-- Obviously the best sound I can get is the most important thing outweighing everything else (except using the computer as the recorder). Since I am recording classical guitar I would want a clean sound, no recording hiss, and enough input level (?) to get decent volume on playback.
-- Budget is between $1000 - $1200

Ok, some ideas I had included:

-- Stand alone recorder like the Edirol R-1 or PMD 660 with a decent stereo mic, maybe the Rode NT-4
-- Stand alone recorders/mixers like Fostex or Tascam...with a decent mic and/or better preamp.

Alright, so you have been hired...fire away! And thanks much in advance.

Cyril

I've no experience with the kind of thing you want, but since no one else is responding, I'd go with Tweak's recommendation:

http://www.tweakheadz.com/rigs3.htm
About 3/4 of the way down the page, under :
"It's got to be simple keyboard/guitar/vocal/Studio--No Computer!"

Probably investigate stereo-micing, though. There are some relevant, current discussions in the mic forum.

Oh, and Welcome!

Suggest you look into the Marantz PMD670. $700

http://www.zzounds.com/a--2676837/item--MARPMD670

It’s got
- line in/out connectors so you can connect a high quality mic preamp to it if you prefer
- spdif in/out (stereo digital) so you can connect high quality converters to it if you prefer. The digital in and out get more useful the more you do with audio.