Recommendations for simple home recording set-up

jrmcanada

Hello,

I'm brand new to this, so please bear with me.

I would like to set up a simple home recording system and I've managed to find some good advice online, but there are some specific requirements that I don't know how to implement. I'll outline what I'm looking for:

• Two-track recording. I have a Yamaha CP300 and would normally want to record it along with a vocal mic. However, I also want to be able to record guitar and a vocal track (without the Yamaha).
  • Speakers (are these called studio monitors?) for the CP300/vocals (or guitar/vocals).
  • The ability to record the two channels separately for DAW mixing afterwards. If I have to, I can record into my laptop, but I'd really prefer to record into something smaller - like an iPhone or iPad or some other multi-track recording device.

This is purely for my own enjoyment, so I'm not looking for a professional setup. At the same time, it doesn't have to be bargain basement, either.

I've seen some articles that say I need to get microphones, an audio interface, Digital Audio Workstation (DAW) software, and studio monitors. But I have a few questions about this:

1. Will this amplify the microphone so that the vocals coming out of the speakers aren't overpowered by the keyboard?
  2. What audio interface best meets the needs I outlined above?
  3. What audio interface would you recommend if I want to record three or four tracks instead of two?
  4. In this scenario, what device do I record onto? Or am I stuck with using my laptop for recording?

Thanks in advance!

James

1) yes, but you'll want to turn the speakers off when you record (use headphones)
2) MOST. M-Audio, Scarlett, PreSonus, Tascam, etc.
3) Pick one of the above that has 4 preamps. One that gets a lot of recommendation around here is the Native Instruments KA6.