Portable unit vs. computer debate

jwetzel

So.... I have been reading just as much my feeble musician's mind can hold of this bbs' info and can not decide whether to go the pc or portable 16 track recorder route. I am by NO means a techie. I am just a composer/performer who would like the highest quality recordings available for my music (which is either vibraphone/marimba percussion stuff or typical electric rock and roll). Is it possible to get a truly great recording from a portable unit? I am just afraid of parting with a ton of dough to get a new pc/sound card/software etc.... when all I need is to record my music for demos/promos/ and to help me compose. I know that computers are the shit, but my VCR reads 12:00.
Any help?

To be honest there is no right or wrong answer, but my advice (coming from someone who started off on the journey of enlightenment) would be to get a workstation rather than a pc.

I started on Fostex FD4, then moved up to a Roland VS1680, and only recently moved to PC.

The problem is this. The better the gear you get, the more complicated it is to work, and the more time you spend pissing around trying to get it to work rather than recording. IF its getting something down recorded you want, get the simplest thing you can. IF you want to learn over time how to mix, engineer, and unravel the inner workings of a PC (and learn how to Format your hard drive numerous times when you install some nasty plugin that screws your pc up) then Buy a pc.

Here speaks the man who just spent 4 hours trying to get Logic to do a simple midi task.

I gave up and recorded onto my VS1680, then dropped the whole thing down to PC..........

PC is more flexible, but more painstaking.
W'Station is simple, and good quality. however you lose flexibility....

HEre we go on the old debate...

they all got pro's and cons.