Is plugging a bass directly into your mixer bad?

jonniebgoode

Hi, i'm new to home recording and i hope this isn't too much of a dumb question. i have a behringer usb1002 10 input mixer and was wondering if it would cause any damage to it if i plugged my bass straight into it. Thanks in advance for your help.

It won't really cause damage, but you should go through a DI box first.
This will fix the input impedance of the pickup and make it suitable for recording.

Some times, you'll get away with plugging an instrument directly into a line in jack. Other times, you'll set up all sorts of weirdness and end up with either a crap signal, hum, or even "clicking/Pulses" as yo uset up standing waves between the pickup and the first opamp on the mixer...

It will meake less of a difference if you are using an active bass. The active circuitry keeps the pickups from being loaded down by the impedance of the board.

That is the ONLY way I record bass tracks. I live in an apartment and can not use a bass amp. I tried using the line out on my guitar amp but it caused lots of hum. So I tried going from my bass directly into my Behringer Eurorack UB802 Mixer and it works PERFECT. It have no hum, no noise. I would recormend it with out a doubt...

Peter

well, you can do that..however, i strongly suggest you DI it first. The important thing in capturing a "full" sound is impedance matching. i don't know whether you understand how impedence works, and if you don't it doesn't really bare much concequence, but it's still important to "obey" the impedence rules.

A bass's output has a high impedance, and the line input on your mixer will probably have a lower impedance, which means the bass could lose some of its "fullness" and "life". A line-level output from an amp would be ok, or from a DI box.