Please help with a hair pulling problem!

Quantumfoam

So when I record a vocal take I make sure my input levels are good above -6db and set on mono. When I go to play it back I get a low volume muddy sounding vocal!
I don't understand why because I know my gear is good, when I'm self monotring it sounds good, crisp, warm, and clean. I just don't know what I can do right now. I'm a bit new to this so if anyone can help I'd really appreciate it thank you.

What does it sound **** in the headphones before or during record? Unless you've accidentally patched in some nasty eq and a poorly set compressor, what goes in is what comes out, so something else is working against you. What software, and has it ever worked properly, or has it always been like this?

What does it sound **** in the headphones before or during record? Unless you've accidentally patched in some nasty eq and a poorly set compressor, what goes in is what comes out, so something else is working against you. What software, and has it ever worked properly, or has it always been like this?

When I'm self monitoring it sounds good and clean but when I playback what recorded then it sounds bad. No eq or compressor accidentally patched. I've tried fl studio 12 but with that I got heavily distorted loud playback recordings and reaper which is what I'm using right now are just super quiet bad vocals.

When you play the take back, it's still above -6db right? Maybe engaging the high pass filter on the mic will get rid of some of the muddiness.

WTF are you recording at above -6dB? And on what?

Even if you were an archaic "tapist" you would not record that hot!

Dave.

What scale? That is, -6dBFS, -6dBVU, -6dBu? I suppose we should assume -6dBFS, which is a bit hot. Make your average level -18dBFS, with peaks well below -6dBFS. Which is to say, while you're singing the level meter should cross the -18dBFS mark a little but never exceed -6dBFS.