Piano sounding awful through the headphones

zlatan

Hey guys, I'm wondering if anyone knows how I could sort this issue out:

I'm a complete noob when it comes to recording!

I have a Nord Stage 2 which sounds beautiful when I use the headphones straight out of the back of it, but once I go through my Sound Card and Logic Pro X, it sounds awful. Really thin and tinny.
Does anyone know how I could sort this out? I just want it to sound like it does when it comes out of the Nord itself.

I have a Focusrite Saffire (original one) sound card and I'm not sure if that's the problem or not?

Thanks in advance!

Hi,
Can you describe, or photograph, the cables and inputs/outputs that you're using to get the nord connected to your sound card?
Also, on the software end, can you confirm that you're getting two separate channels of audio input and that they're panned left and right respectively?

It sounds like one one channel is being inverted at some point, you're only hearing one of the channels, or the playback that you're hearing has both channels panned centre.

Tell us more to be sure. :)

How are you connecting the piano to the Saffire, i.e., what outs/ins are being used. Which Saffire model are you using and how are the Nord outputs configured, if you aren't using the defaults (1&2, according to the manual)?

Hi Steenamaroo, thanks so much for the quick reply!

I'm taking a mono out feed (1/4 inch jack to jack cable) from the Nord into input 1 on the sound card. I can take pictures if its easier to explain it?

It sounds like one one channel is being inverted at some point, you're only hearing one of the channels, or the playback that you're hearing has both channels panned centre....
Yes, could be a phase issue, so with those channels panned LR, does either sound OK solo'd?

Ok,

I'm taking a mono out feed (1/4 inch jack to jack cable) from the Nord into input 1 on the sound card. I can take pictures if its easier to explain it?