Phantom power/focusrite 2i4 issue

Mogalot55

HELp!!!! I am currently setting up a very small setup for acoustic and vocals mainly.

I have got my guitar coming through the 2i4 fine. The problem is the mic. It is a condenser mic so I use the phantom power. But every time I use it my USB light flashes and the sound goes in and out???

I am a real beginner and as far as I know I have installed everything ok (im using ableton live 9 lite).

I am using a 4gb ram laptop and 1tb which is dedicated to recording alone? I am at a loss?

Any ideas what the issue is??

Cheers

Lee
:mad:

I am just looking at it and I don't see an input for a power supply - is it bus powered from the laptop's USB?

If so, you can go into windows and mess with the USB port settings (if you're running windows) and that might help...maybe? Can't remember how to get there but if you can get to device manager, right click on the USB port(s) shown and there should be something about power save or something like that - deselect that and give it a go.

This question has come at an opportune time since I have just purchased two "Chord" brand 2 chan' phantom power boxes.

They are quite well made for the price, £34 inc postage, and are very quiet. However the internal 48V supply is poorly regulated and droops on load. They only delver for instance around 1/2 the current my ZED10 mixer XLRs do.

This might not be an issue for most modern capacitor mics, they mainly seem to draw less than 3mA* but the OP's mic seems a bit more power hungry since this is the first time I have read of a spook juice issue with the 2i4?

I need to check the current delivery of my Behringer Xenyx 802 mixer but it would seem that a cheap mixer might be a better buy than a cheap PPower unit?

*A more cynical person than moir MIGHT think that they all use the same electronics?

Dave. (Oh yes! We need that mic model #)