patchbays...

pikingrin

what is this?
okay, I'm not a newbie to recording, just to patchbays. I usually record through my presonus eureka, but I plan on upgrading my compressors, and all that stuff. Do I even need a patchbay in a small project studio? If it would (even eventually) come in handy, what should I look for? I just read through another thread, and there were all of these terms (normalized, etc...) that for the most part I understand in any other context than patchbays and optimal signals. Let's just say (theoretically) that I record my guitar through a pod. I also own a behri V-amp, a boss gt-6, and a boss GX-700. would a patchbay enable me to record all of these at the same time on their own seperate channels? I guess the bottom line question, since there are so many different tangents to run off on, is would a patchbay do me any good recording into a PC based DAW? Any help is appreciated.

i would download the manual for a dbx pb-48 in order to learrn those terms, i have a dbx pb-48 and it is great, try and get a DBX PB-48 floor model (i dont think floor model patchbays get alot of use)

DBX-PB 48 MANUAL

as for whether or not u need one i am of no help

Warning: I'm just as much of a newb as you are so if I don't get it all right don't bitch at me for it.

Do I even need a patchbay in a small project studio?

IMO it will keep you from constanly plugging and unplugging wires every time you want to use something like outboard compresser, FX box on a differant channel...

I just read through another thread, and there were all of these terms (normalized, etc...) that for the most part I understand in any other context than patchbays and optimal signals.

I think and this is a big one cause I'm not absolutely sure but i think normalled means the signal goes directly from the line out to the line in of whatever box you are using on that channel. Like AUX 1 & AUX 2 are normalled to the headphones.