Patch bay for idiots help needed

While I have been recording for 30 years in my home, I never used a Patch bay. I am completely overwhelmed by the information about them. I just built a new computer system that includes an 8 port audio interface. The connections are on the rear. Since I don't want to leave 8 cables dangling down permanently, I wanted to connect the patch bay to or so that I can just plug into the front of the patch bay. Sounds simple, doesn't it? Not when I google around for an answer though.

In my mind, I would plug a patch out of the back of the 1st patch bay port to the input of the 1st interface port. The patch bay would be a simple extension of the interface port.

Can this be done? I don't want to insert an effect or anything in between. Can someone give me an idiot version of what to do? I have a furman pb40 with a link below.

Mac OS X Server

Thanks for any assistance.

Last edited by a moderator:
You can definitely use it that way. Plug a cable from your interface into the back of your bay. Then when you plug a cable into the front side of the same jack it'll act like one single cable. Just make sure to only use either all top row or all bottom row. With some reading and experimentation you'll find out why. (Unless your jacks have a "thru" mode, in which case you can use all of them this way.)

+1.
I use a patchbay as you describe, simply for convenient close-to-hand ins and outs.

Mine allows me to use top + bottom as separate paths as long as every in has an out.
I'm not sure if that's the norm but as easlern says, for simplest operation just stick to top row or bottom row and you can't go wrong.

When you say "port", what kind of connector do you mean? Are they XLR or TRS?