OTB Mixing confusion

Nundale

Hello everyone,

Just joined this awesome forum in the hope of inspiration and some help.

I just finished producing a new album (electronica/IDM) and am now entering the much dreaded postproduction phase.
I have a great mastering engineer, but the mixing I want to do myself.
I am quite hell bent on OTB processing.

But....

I am kinda lost in the way I need to set up my studio without having to shelf out the big bucks.
As far as I can see I have these options:
1. Route my DAW groups and tracks out through a channel strip one by one (since I won't buy 6 channel strips obviously)
2. Route my DAW tracks out onto a mixer with per channel eq/ dynamics and sum or group it in the mixer and bounce it back into the DAW

The first option gives me sweeter tuning options for that one track I am treating, but I can imagine that it will become a pain in the ass to do so track by track.
The second option gives me more flexibility and saves time, but such a mixing desk will never have the same circuitry as a sweet channel strip.

Again, I am not working with vocals and very little live instruments. It's mostly electronic instruments that need boost, clarity and seperation.

Any help and input is highly appreciated.

Thanks

As far as I can see I have these options:
1. Route my DAW groups and tracks out through a channel strip one by one (since I won't buy 6 channel strips obviously)
2. Route my DAW tracks out onto a mixer with per channel eq/ dynamics and sum or group it in the mixer and bounce it back into the DAW

The first option gives me sweeter tuning options for that one track I am treating, but I can imagine that it will become a pain in the ass to do so track by track.
The second option gives me more flexibility and saves time, but such a mixing desk will never have the same circuitry as a sweet channel strip.