Online courses?

Kleudde

Hi,
I see a lot of advertisement and videos for online courses on home studios. There are so many of them... Are they worth it? Did anyone tried one ? Do you recommand to take one and if so any one in particular?
To name a few I have seen here and there : Recording Revolution (i know some of you made fun of him Graham in some posts hehe), Hardcore Music Studio, Demo to Pro, Musician on a mission, activstudio.fr (french), etc.

I'm a beginner that only learned the basic basic and by mysefl. For now I'm just recording tracks and editing a little bit but eventually I would like to be able to mix and maybe master my recordings.

Thank you

Online education is incredibly varied in quality and depth. The reason teachers get qualifications nowadays is nothing to do with how good they are at their subject, it's how good they are at education and communication. I won't bore you with all the stuff I had to do to get the picture of a flat hat and piece of plastic tube for the photo, but most of it is dull - but there IS science behind learning. The huge variety of Youtube videos shows this only too well.

Everyone learns best when the material is presented in a style that works for the learner. How do you learn best? Will your course be one to one (excellent, if you get on), or is it a one size fits all course, where they send, you receive?

The wrong depth, width and delivery will become an obstacle to learning. Historically, recording has been self-taught with mistakes forming your best practice. People who want to speed things up now have choice.