One drumset. Eight inputs. Lots of microphones.

Seventh Arrow

Hello Home Recording forumites,

I'm going to be recording drums next week, something I've never done before. I know that much ink has been spilled on the subject and I promise I'll get around to reading it someday, but for now I just need some quick tips. Up until now, I've been using EZ Drummer but I prefer the kind of interaction that comes with a real drummer.

I have two CAD 7-piece drum mic kits, as well as a Shure SM57 and an AT4040.

My audio interface is an M-Audio Fast Track Ultra...it's got six direct inputs and an SPDIF input. I'll be using a preamp with two mic inputs and an SPDIF out. So...eight inputs or channels altogether. I think.

So how about this: One mic on the snare, one on the kick, maybe the SM57 on the hi-hat; one mic on the floor tom, maybe the AT4040 at a distance; maybe another mic for the cymbals...there's three rack toms, so I'd be short one mic to capture them all. Maybe two condenser mics to capture the three toms??? Yes/no?

------------------------------------

Last edited:
Use the CAD mics for the kick (KM 212), toms (TM 211 x3) and overheads (CM 217 x2), the 57 for the snare. You might be fine without a hihat mic, so that would be 7 inputs. Maybe use the last input for the 4040 at a distance, if your room sounds good.

The SPDIF preamp will have to be the master clock.

I'm with bouldersoundguy. If you found another mic, just about anything that isn't a large diaphragm condenser, like the 4040, you could use it to mic the hat, if you really feel the need.

Im with RAMI.

1) Go read

2) Experiment

3) start with fewer mics. The four he suggested will get the job done.

I agree, start with four mics, kick/snare/overheads. I always do. But then I usually end up using 7 to 9 mics on the kit anyway.

There is no one way to mic drums, but things like micing cymbals, for example, show that you need to read up.