Old Guy. Starting again Ditch HD24,DM-24 and just go with DAW?

RSullivan

Background:
I used to do home recording, which I have not done for about 8 years now.
About a year ago I pulled my guitar out of the closet and started playing again.
Now I am going to dive back into recording.

I have now pulled ALL of my recording gear out of the closet, and I have a lot of it
(Of course it is all at least 10 years old).

I am a programmer, so when I previously recorded I had written my own MIDI sequencer.
(Basically for MIDI drums (Alesis DM5, D4, Sr16's) and keys).

The equipment I have for the main recording (I am ignoring all of the other equipment for this topic):
1.) Alesis HD24
2.) Tascam DM-24
3.) Lucid GENx6 (Word clock generator).

Now:
So I am now looking at a mess of S/PDIF cables, BNC cables and Light Pipe cables.
I am getting a headache just thinking about how to figure out how to connect it all.
I also no longer have the PC that I was using 10 years ago.

I have Reaper installed on my PC (Dell 8900, 16Gig ram, 3.4Ghz Intel I7).
I also have installed SSD4.

My intention is to:
1.) Record live electric Guitar (No DI, I am not interested in software emulators and such).
I am going to mike the cabinet.
2.) Record electric Bass. I have a Behringer Bass V Amp Pro. I will use this to get started.
3.) Use Reaper and SSD4 for Drums.

What should I do?
So, any opinions on what I should do?
1.) Is there any benefit to figuring out / remembering how to set up my HD24 (tracking to), DM-24 (Mixing with), WordClock, and Reaper?
1.1) Is there any benefit in retaining the HD24 as a dedicated HD recorder besides HD space on my PC?

2.) Would I be better off ditching the HD24, DM-24 and GENx6 and simply using Reaper to record, track and mix?

Thanks for any input.