Old and confused?

judge_mental

Hi, I'm a guitarist of some 55yrs and I just want to do a simple thing, I want to lay down a 4 track piece from my guitars and keyboard.
I have guitar, I have amp I have pc. What else do I need to get going laying this 4 track composition to my pc that I can replay at leisure? Thanks in advance and sorry for being from the Stone age.

A basic two input audio interface plus a DAW (recording software) should do it. Most interfaces come with a basic DAW, but you can use different software if you like. That will let you connect microphones, instruments and line sources and record them to the computer while hearing the live inputs plus anything that's already been recorded. You'll want closed back headphones for tracking and a set of monitors (studio speakers) for mixing the results.

The acoustics of the space you use will have a substantial effect on what you record with a microphone and how you hear it when mixing. Some degree of acoustic treatment would be a good idea.

All of this stuff is discussed on this site. If you have more specific questions, just ask.

I can relate, consider getting a simple stand alone recorder. You may not be ready for recording on computer, but you can easily mix it on the computer.

I can relate, consider getting a simple stand alone recorder. You may not be ready for recording on computer, but you can easily mix it on the computer.

I could be missing your meaning? Recording into a stand alone may be simpler initially. But you still have to be up to speed on the DAW, plus the added task of transferring the files into the projects.
I do this enough -with live recordings, that I see it as an added layer of task.
Ok for a night's capture', but would be awful for building out songs. (Record, check, erase/add/redo/build on etc.

Oh and Judge'... '55..' Ha! Puppies!
:>)
Welcome to the site :>)