NOOBS!!!BEFORE POSTING!!~READ THIS!! The Ultimate Newbie FAQ thread

killthepixelnow

Do it right or dont do it
Following the advice of one fellow here in the forum, I think that I should try to explain how a freaking compressor works with a simple language. Hope you find it interesting. I'm not a pro but I think this will give more light on this tricky subject. Let's start...

Lesson 01

Let me explain it with my own words. Compressor is a signal processor. You can find it in most recording software as well as rack units. A compressor reduces dynamic range. What does it do?

The compressor tames the highest peaks of your sound wave and allows the signal to be louder. Given that the sound waves are more even, your wave sounds more punchy and tight. overuse of compressor kill dynamics and that's the reason you must be careful and not over compress you tracks.

lesson01_basscomp.png

In these example you can see the track after and before being compressed. What you might notice first is that the weird peaks you fin in the original wave are less pronounced in the compressed track. Also notice that the overall gain (volume) of the new track is almost the same. How does it happen? Well, let's analyze my compressor setting.

lesson01_compressor.png

Threshold:
That's the point where you signal processor start to work. When the signal surpasses -18.0 dB it starts reducing the volume. How much?

Ratio
That's the reduction you're applying to the portion for the signal that past your threshold. I'm using a 3 to 1 reduction. It means that if I have 3db going past the threshold I'm gonna end with 1db. Any compression stronger than 20:1 is considered limiting.

Attack & release