NOOBS!!!BEFORE POSTING!!~READ THIS!! The Ultimate Newbie FAQ thread

Asking specific questions rather than generalized ones help.

For example, instead of asking:
I have $150 to spend on a microphone and an interface and want to record my songs (I play guitar and sing).

Say and ask:
I've been playing guitar for 10 years, and want to record my songs. I have a Fender CD140SCE, a Mexican Fender Strat and a Champ amp. My songs are mostly just me playing guitar and singing, but in the future I might want to add drums and bass.
I have only used garageband and a USB mic up to this point. I could record both guitar and singing at same time or at different times, I don't know what is best.
If I get a used Shure SM57, is there any cheap interface that would keep me under $150 total? I've got some cheap headphones and not much else for gear.

Get it? The more detailed you are, the easier we can respond. Home recording is a learning process and we all started from nothing, too.

By the way, when buying used Shure SM57's, beware of counterfeits. I should have read here first when I got mine - luckily I only lost about $30 on the deal because the capsule wires got ripped out at a gig one night and I put it up on ebay "as is" with cautions about it probably being a counterfeit!

Really good post on compressors.

We should also add that compressors are regularly used to ..

1. Colour the sound with harmonic distortion
2. Shape the transient profile and envelop of individual sounds (such as a snare drum)
3. Increase dynamic range (when they act as expanders)
4. Limiting and clipping, sometimes in order to destroy dynamic range!

Thanks keithersgsx2003...Its a very useful site.Ive been reading these articles id say.Im learning something.Thumbs Up :)

That compression FAQ was just perfect to get started.

Anybody interested in doing something similar for Noise Reduction? The good, the bad, the ugly?

Dunno, maybe because google sucks?