Noob Question about Cubase and mixer

kasey84

Hi guys, I'm Kasey and new to this site. I've played music for awhile and looking at recording. So, total noob question. I looked on threads but didn't see an answer (though I certainly could have missed it). I have a Soundcraft Signature 22 MTK, and am looking at getting Cubase (on the trial version now). How do I route things so that the faders and EQ work on the mixdown? I get either where the faders work on playback but then the mixdown is silence, or the faders and EQ on the MTK do nothing but the mixdown has the sound. I could always use the EQ on Cubase, but I definitely like the idea of the hands on quality of the hardware mixer and EQ. Any help is appreciated. Thanks for your patience with the noob.

Not sure I understand the question.. but 'subscribing to follow along.
Looks like a nice mixer feature set for a good price :listeningmusic:

Don't know if this is along the line of what you have, but on the A&H QU you do have to switch all the ch input paths to (the playback USB drive which is what I use..) or the USB feeds from the DAW.

Thanks for checking in. What I mean is that the Soundcraft fader and EQ are present on the playback, but when I mix the track they are not affecting the track. I'm trying to figure out if there is a master send from the Soundcraft to Cubase during the mixing so that EQ and fader levels are applied. As is, a lot of the utility of the Soundcraft is wasted.

Soundcraft Signature 22 MTK |

A read of the above might throw some light on what you want to do.

If I understand you, you want to send the Cubase tracks back to the mixer (as you would with a bundle of cables with an analogue setup) 'mix' and 'FX' those in the mixer's circuits then send the stereo resultant BACK into Cubase? What is called working "Out of The Box" in analogue parlance?