Noob asking a question about recording

Toni1580

Hey there,

I am very new to recording at home and need some help as this is driving me mad. I have a LD LAX 6D Mixer (nothing special I know) anyway I recently started recording at home and everything is fine apart from being able to hear what I am recording. I cant listen to the music and hear my vocals through the same headsets. I have to listen to the backing track through my pc and my vocals through my mixer. I have an audio interface that transfers the vocals to usb to the pc. When I have the backing track from the PC go through to the mixer so that I can listen to vocals and music through the same headphones, the audio interface also sends the backing track back into the PC through the Microphone recording. My questions is, is there anything I can do about that? Please help (I have tried to explain the best I can, I hope people understand what I mean)

Thank you

I can't find the LD LAX 6D on their site...the nearest seems to be the VIBZ 6D and if yours is anything like that you may be out of luck.

Using a mixer, the normal way to set up monitoring is to use a facility called "Auxiliary Sends". These are extra knobs on each input channel (generally between the EQ controls and the Pan control) which allow you to send the signal to other outputs. Typically you'd use a "Pre Fade" Aux on both your mic channel and the computer return channel to create your headphone mix. The main control on the mic would be turned up (to record) and the main control on the computer would be turned right down so as not to feed back into the computer. I suspect your mixer doesn't have this facility.

You don't mention how you get from the mixer into your computer. Do you have a USB audio interface or are you relying on the basic sound card on your computer? If you have a USB interface, look and see if it has "Direct Hardware Monitoring" or some similar title. If so, this will let you create a mix without going back to the mixer.