No sound when trying to record in Logic pro X with a mic'd speaker Cabinet.

Welly1997

Hi guys!

So I'm new here and I wasn't sure were to post this considering it's not really a post about recording techniques as such. I am a noob here so to speak. It's a recording question in general. I'm trying to record my Marshall JVM205 into Logic pro X with a Shure SM57. So far the chain is. Les Paul standard into the JVM head, speaker cable into the 1936 cab which is mic'ed with the SM57 into my 2i4 interface via an XLR. The problem is I have no sound when trying to record and the interface isn't picking up what I play. :mad: The gain led does flash when I play so it's obviously picking up signal. I am pretty new to recording through an actual amp as opposed to the amps 'simulators' within Logic. I already know it sounds much better. I'm just not entirely sure how you do it. :cursing: If anyone could help that would be awesome! Apologies if I have posted in the wrong thread. It's pretty urgent as I have some recording I need to lay down ASAP for personal projects.

Last edited:
Hi there and welcome to HR.

If the gain meters are lighting up on your interface, that rules out of a lot of troubleshooting.
It means the problem is in Logic so I'd check that 1: The focusrite is selected as the audio interface in Logic global settings and 2: The track you're recording to has the correct focusrite input number selected.

I don't use Logic so I can't give you specific instructions, but hopefully broad strokes will help. :)

If this is all done and you can see recorded audio or meter movement inside Logic, but can't hear anything, it may be that there's an input monitoring on/off button somewhere.
I know Protools has this globally, and per track.

Were you getting results with the same equipment when you were recording amp sims?

Some focusrite. Interfaces such as the saffire series have mix software that has to be properly set. I don't know about yours.