Newbie Software Advice

Witterings

Hi All,

I'm a complete newbie (1st post) so be gentle with me, and have literally just starting playing around with Audacity and am just about beginning to understand the basics. Are the paid for alternatives for home recording much better without spending a fortune and if so what are the advantages / extra functionality ie are they better for mixing and which ones are good at the lower end of the cost range ???

Also you often hear of drums referred to as "compressed" during the recording process which gives them a damper not so ringy sound as when they're played live. In Audacity under Effect and Compressor which brings up Dynamic Range Compressor, is that the tool people are referring to or do I need something seperate to that and again might some of the paid for alternatives do a better job ??????

Many thanks for your responses in advance !!!!!

Welcome to the site. You're in the newbies section, so no harm will come. :D

Just starting out?? Time to start reading then. If you've done any lurking on the board, then you might have seen suggested reading material. You need to define what you want to achieve with recording before buying any gear. This will keep you from buying the wrong stuff.

A good place to start reading is the Tweak's guide:

http://www.tweakheadz.com/guide.htm

I also suggest a book called Homerecording for Musicians for Dummies by Jeff Strong. Gets you going in the right direction.

As for your compression question, I'm not experienced with Audacity, but the compressor sounds like what you're talking about.

Hi All,