Newbie audio question

nathanmarj

Hi everyone I am very new to the audio world.

How can I hook up a computer to a crown 28m to record whats being said into the mics.

Can I use the preamp output?
If so do I just cut one end off a 3.5 male to male audio cable and plug one into computer and one into pre amp?
Ive been told I can do this.
If this is true does anyone know the color code for how I connect the wires into the pre amp?

Thx much.

You would use the line out jacks/connections from the Crown amp - but what do you have for an input device for your computer? What software are you using for recording?

Hi there,

How you do this would depend on the computer input device, as MJB says.
The preamp outputs on the amp have + - and ground x 2.
That suggests stereo balanced outputs.

If your recording input (computer built in) is unbalanced stereo, which they generally are, I guess you'd just use the + and ground for each output? Can't see why not.
Don't be surprised if it's buzzy or noisy, though.

If you have some other interface with balanced line inputs, that'd be much better.

For each output take ground, negative and positive to Shield Ring and Tip of a TRS plug, in that order.
The orientation of negative and positive doesn't actually matter, as long as you do the same for both TRS plugs.

Hope that helps! :)

Would I come off the crown amp or the crown mixer 28m?
Was planning on just going straight into the sound card of a desktop computer.
Software may be something like mixlr to archive and broadcast.

The premp out put on the mixer is a phoenix 3 prong. If i cut the audio cable do I run red left. bare copper in middle and white wire on the right?

Thx

What Crown "amp" are you talking about. You only mentioned the 28M mixer.