Newbie advice needed pls: Background Noise and Whistling Sound when Recording to PC

sisaogirl

Hi, I'm new here. I'm not a producer of any sort, merely a vocalist/instrumentalist who occasionally needs to send off recordings. I've always used Cubase as I know the platform well and find it userfriendly. I've recently started using my home set up again and am finding big problems when recording. No matter what I do I am finding a whooshing/whistling sound behind all my recordings and whilst monitoring. I've tried bypassing my mixer and going straight into PC, I've tried a different mic, lead, tried my electric piano, tried Ableton rather than Cubase...still the noise!
Yet when I first boot up my PC and try listening to the Line Input through the Windows 'Recording Devices' settings it sounds perfectly clear. Through a series of eliminations I'm starting to believe that this problem is due to some sort of ASIO setting but I don't know enough about this. I'm losing the will to live with it and desperately need it all to be working again soon. Any help will be much appreciated.
Thanks again
Cecilia

Hi Cecilia and welcome to the madhouse!

The first thing to do is post a list of the gear in your rig. All we know at the moment is that you have 'a' Cubase and a PC (lap? desk?) and 'a' mixer.

You mention "ASIO" drivers? Well they would only be moot if you had a fairly decent Audio Interface.

A crumb of possible comfort. The setting in the PC Sounds Panel may have been changed, most notably the Level setting for recording. For 'line in' sounds or signal from say a USB mixer, that usually need to be set to 5% from the default 100%. We don't even know your Operating System!

Your location can often be useful? Money, mains V .....

Dave.

Last edited:
Hi Dave thanks for getting back to me.