New Members: Introduce Yourself Here!

hi, i'm a guy from Belgium who found this forum coz I have some questions, but I cant post a link in a new thread so I'm just saying "hi", hoping that having a few posts will remove this particular restriction

OK, here's what I'm dealing with.

I'm a lifelong voice talent seeking to set up a home studio. I have what I believe to be adequate equipment to make it happen but the issue of getting voice from the microphone through the processor and mixer to the computer is confusing to me. I'm not an engineer and therefore don't understand a lot of the terminology I've seen in the user manuals and forums for what I have available.

I'm using an Electro-Voice RE20 microphone and need to know how to route the cables from the mic through a dbx 286A processor and a Mackie 1202 VLZ Pro mixer to the sound card (X-Fi Titanium) of my computer.

I don't understand what the term "insert" means.

I'm a definite neophyte.

Hope someone can help.

Thanks,
Bill

"Insert" is an In/Out that interrupts signal so you can "insert" a device like a compressor or an EQ. I'd use the DBX straight to the computer.

Hi Guys, Aussie here, Will in Sydney; 45yo guitarist (I wish!) getting into looping and starting to have some modest success - in that I am enjoying myself immensely.

At least what I've found is that when I am working in Live I literally disappear into the music I'm creating - for the first time in my life I have felt like I am exploring the musical landscape and playing my instrument rather than just reproducing mechanical patterns I've learned by rote.