New Members: Introduce Yourself Here!

Jesse, currently working on my solo release. Played in various bands (mainly guitar, bass and vocals but can also play drums and some keys), and recorded some of our work.

Hello!

Poldo here

In my past I have been a guitarist, I have been doing electronic music in the mid nineties and I have studied a lot of african percussions. After 15 years of music inactivity, thee months ago I have decided to learn bass and I need to catch up with a lot of technology :) . This forum seems to be a great place to do that!

I would like to play different stuff with my bass (for the moment especially reggae/dub and funk), but I can see myself going back into making my own music. So at the moment I have basic questions (e.g. how to record a single bass line, export to an mp3 and sync it with a video), but in the future I would like to get heavily involved with electronic music (Ableton Live stuff, etc...)

Nice to be here!

Hello, I'm new here

How's it going?

Decided it's time I started recording my musical meanderings but as a rank amateur I don't even know where to start. I play guitar and bass and want to set up a connection with my laptop. Obviously as I'm new I want to do it cheaply but effectively and acknowledge there's a trade off between those two aims, so reasonable but cheapish budget. Want to lay down guitar and bass tracks, and drum machine, and possibly keyboards in the future. What's the best way to make a start? Necessary reading? Etc. Anything that will help me get a broad picture so I can find things to focus on would be helpful.

Cheers

Slinkey.....
It's not the axe in your hand it's the axe in your head!

Hey Slinkey, Welcome to HR!
You came to the right place. ;)

Have a browse through this section and the digital recording section. You'll find plenty of guys looking for starter advice, and plenty of responses.

If you want to start a new thread in either of those places, go ahead. Plenty of people here to advise.